ASNT Standard Topical Outlines for Qualification of Nondestructive Testing Personnel (ANSI/ASNT CP The newly approved ANSI Standard, ANSI/ ASNT. Recommended Practice SNT-TC-1A and the. ASNT Standard for Qualification and Certification of Nondestructive Testing Personnel CP These documents . My recommendation to my clients is that they require NDT qualification and certification in accordance with ASNT CP or ASNT ACCP.

Author: Sajinn Ditilar
Country: Indonesia
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Finance
Published (Last): 13 July 2008
Pages: 267
PDF File Size: 17.5 Mb
ePub File Size: 12.66 Mb
ISBN: 216-3-18552-312-3
Downloads: 8497
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Tygolrajas

I concur Al, Here’s an interesting synopsis covering both the guidelines and the standard: Certification in accordance with EN and ISO is differs from those previous by classification as central certification in a similar vein to college examination bodies. My question is what are the requirements for PdM since either don’t have any formal training or experience hour requirement. This certification meets the requirements for the basic and method specific examination, leaving only the practical examination to be administered by the employer.

Select a Category

Not logged in American Welding Society Forum. Is this a quantifiable value or a misnomer of accuracy?

Michael Ruddy, Chair William C. The CP outlines five levels aant certification rather than three. Best regards – Al. Should you require any further guidance on any of the points mentioned in this paper please contact Lavender International NDT Ltd.


Browse Resources

CP adds certification levels of trainee and instructor. Additionally, ASNT does not have an audit function to assure that compliance to the intent of the document is met.

Plumstead, Vice Chair George C. The document intends that employers will create their own programs based on their business streams and needs by developing a written practice.

Certification schemes are available to operate as company internal quality measures with internal or external moderation. Levels of qualification – There are 5 levels of qualification instead of 3 the additional 2 being “Instructor” and cpp.

Surely by virtue of demonstrating continuous performance by an internal or external means of assessment, automatically achieves traceability and quantification.

CP uses “shall ” throughout to emphasize a mandatory requirement”, whereas SNT – TC – lA uses the verb ” should” to emphasize a recommendation” The ASNT Recommended Practice is used in many industries, including oil and gas, transportation, power plants, construction, bridge fabrication, asnh bridge inspection.

In the early s, ASNT established pc technical committee to set up guidelines for the qualification and certification of NDE testing personnel that employers could follow.

PQT Services, Inc. – CP Qualification and Certification

Again this is not a comprehensive list of the differences, but simply the “major” fundamental differences in asn concepts Sounds like there may not be a specific code or standard that requires it other then customer may require it. SNT-TC-1A is not a mandatory standard or code but rather is an employer-based program with recommended guidelines for initial training, experience and testing of NDE personnel for qualification and certification.


For an individual to become certified in multiple test methods, each method must 1189 represented by method-specific training, experience and examinations.

Colorado – Section By supermoto Date Belev Paul Deeds, Jr. The downside is that the employer-based program is often abused, resulting in a lower level of achievement than what the program had intended. Nebraska – Section Oh btw, this is from the February issue of Quality Magazine: North Florida – Section By Date Rochester – Section By far the most important fundamental difference is in the concept that CP is a national standard and must be treated as a minimum requirement not simply a set of guidelines which may be altered Not all code or standards require certification but how else do you assess the competence of test personnel?